Weddings. Sigh.

20120205-093714.jpg

Oh yes, I know this is not work-related but it’s worthy of blogging no doubt.

See, this past year (and the next year and a half to come) has and will be a challenging time period in my life. It’s the time where all your friends or people you know start getting married all over the place. And you may even be, dare I say it, lucky enough to be involved in a few of them. Several ones. At once.

I love all my friends. Do not doubt that for a moment. But I am all wedding-ed out after this past year.

A good friend of mine, Bon-Bon, got married to an Australian. I co-emceed that wedding. Just getting to THAT wedding was a disaster.

And then there’s my best friend. Dearest Alicia, if you ever read this, I love you and am honored to be your maid of honor, but getting married in July 2013 (engaged since May 2011) is like two years+ of my life to talk about weddings. And making me go dress shopping multiple times AND THEN making me go with two brides at once with your snobby other friend who is also getting married? Shame on you.

I’m a good yes-man to all the bridal fantasy weekends and sitting to talk about colors for the bagillionth time. I’m patient with all the tears about what “that friend” said and what the “other bride-to-be-did”, but if I hear “but this is suppose to be about me” one more time, I’m willingly going have an aneurysm to get me out of this.

There’s so many small, picky details to plan, too much useless stuff to fret over. And far, FAR too many things to get upset over.

Is my apathy because I am single? Likely. But we are not going to go there.

And after all of this, I decided (actually it was probably during bridal fantasy after id seen everything three times) that when I get married, it is going to be SO chill. My invitations will read wedding PARTY…not wedding.

I’ll sew my own dress. Short white summer one. I’ll braid my hair wet and let it out dry for the wedding. I’ll wear my gold hoop nose ring, and have some self-applied henna on my arm.
I’ll make my own bouquet, and go barefoot. So will the groom, but he doesn’t know that yet. Pig roast, BYOB, and no stress. Don’t bring gifts, bring a salad instead! 🙂

See doesn’t that sound nice ❤

One response

Leave a Reply

